The Clarkdale Historic District was added to the National Registrar in 1998.The district includes 50 blocks of the original town site founded in 1912. Clarkdale is one of the first master-planned communities in Arizona, built to provide housing and amenities for employees of the copper mines in Jerome and the newly constructed smelter in Clarkdale. Built by Copper Baron William Andrews Clark, owner of the United Verde Copper Company, the Town was designed to provide everything for residents. In addition to the houses built for employees, Main Street included a bank, a grocery, a dentist office and a dry goods store. Today, these historic buildings anchor a vibrant downtown and house an eclectic mix of businesses.
Clark’s legacy includes the Clark Memorial Clubhouse which became the social heart of the Town, with dances, a bowling alley and swimming pool. Erected in 1926 with funds bequeathed from William Clark’s estate, the Clubhouse was added to the Registry in 1982.
The Clarkdale Historical Society and Museum is located in the building that served as the Town clinic. The Society hosts a home tour every year. Homes constructed for the original town site have distinctive architectural styles including Craftsman, Spanish Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival and English Cottage Revival.
A series of historic information kiosks, funded through a grant from the Arizona Office of Rural Tourism, and in partnership with the Town of Clarkdale and the Clarkdale Historic Society and Museum, provides a self-guided walking tour of the historic district.